RAKU

Our tiles witness an interplay between elements and symbolise how a relationship between East and West acquires form. Appealing, geometrical ornaments are the result of repeating digitally developed graphic patterns. They encounter a centuries-old Japanese firing technique with a fascinating, inimitable character based on chance.

EARTH

The basis of the tiles is a combination of different clays and loam. Mixed in the workshop with quartz sand and fireclay, the mass is then pressed into the tile form and precisely reshaped by hand. Through a silkscreen process the basic material now acquires form. The glaze impresses rhythmical symbols in the tiles.

FIRE

The ceramic tile is hardened at a temperature of c. 1000°C within a short time. The change in the basic material is now evident. Through the low temperature firing the material becomes more porous, when later touched it gives a deep organic sound and has a warm feel.

AIR

The glowing tiles are taken one by one from the kiln using a tongs and immediately buried in sawdust. The process of denying the tile oxygen and the ensuing smoke have an intensive effect on the surface that differs every time: the colour changes according to the glaze and the fine hair cracks are blackened.

AIR

The glowing tiles are taken one by one from the kiln using a tongs and immediately buried in sawdust. The process of denying the tile oxygen and the ensuing smoke have an intensive effect on the surface that differs every time: the colour changes according to the glaze and the fine hair cracks are blackened.

KARAK – FIRED SYMBOLS

Each of our raku tiles is worked by hand 36 times before it is used and laid in place. Unlike with industrial methods our handcrafted production allows us to make a genuine response to individual requirements.

Often we develop our tiles in close collaboration with clients and architects. The process is individual: from design, format and the colour of the glaze to the application of, for instance, adhesive mortar, which allows tiles to be taken down and used again. It is only the process of raku firing that cannot be influenced – which is precisely what makes each tile unique.

RAKU

Unsere Fliesen sind Zeugnisse eines Zusammenspiels von Elementen – und symbolisieren die Formwerdung einer Beziehung zwischen Ost und West. Einnehmende, geometrische Ornamente sind das Resultat einer Wiederholung von digital entwickelten grafischen Mustern. Sie begegnen einer jahrhundertealten japanischen Brenntechnik, die mit ihrem unnachahmlichen Charakter des Zufalls begeistert.

ERDE

Die Basis der Fliese ist eine Kombination von unterschiedlichen Ton- & Lehmerden. Einmal in der Werkstatt mit Quarzsand und Schamott vermischt, wird die Masse in Fliesenform gepresst und von Hand detailgenau retouchiert. Im Siebdruckverfahren nimmt der Grundstoff nun Gestalt an. Die Glasur prägt den Fliesen rhythmische Zeichen ein.

FEUER

Gefestigt wird die Keramikfliese innerhalb kurzer Zeit bei ca. 1000°C. Die Veränderung im Grundstoff wird nun erlebbar: Das Material wird durch die Niedrigbrandtechnik poröser, verleiht späteren Berührungen einen tiefen, organischen Klang und eine warme Haptik.

LUFT
Die glühenden Fliesen werden einzeln mit einer Zange aus dem Brennofen entnommen und sofort in Sägemehl luftdicht vergraben. Der Sauerstoffentzug und der entstehende Rauch wirken intensiv und jedes mal anders auf die Oberfläche ein: Die Farbe ändert sich je nach Glasur und schwärzt ihre hauchdünnen Risse.

WASSER

Das abschließende Eintauchen in Wasser gibt den finalen Charakter der Fliese preis. Die durch den Temperaturschock transformierte Glasuroberfläche wird mit einer Bürste von allen Schwärzungen befreit und enthüllt ihr unvorhersehbares, zartes Krakelee – wie ein feines Netz, das sich über den Prozess legt und alles verbindet.

KARAK – GEBRANNTE ZEICHEN

Jede unserer Raku-Fliesen wird einzeln 36 mal in die Hand genommen, bis sie tatsächlich Anwendung findet und verlegt ist. Anders als in industrieller Produktion erlaubt unsere handwerkliche Herstellung ein grundsätzliches Eingehen auf unterschiedliche Bedürfnisse.

Oft werden unsere Fliesen in enger Zusammenarbeit mit KundInnen & ArchitektInnen entwickelt. Der Prozess ist individuell: von Design, Format und Glasurfarbe – bis zur Applikation beispielsweise mit Lehmkleber, um die Fliesen demontierbar und wiederverwertbar zu machen. Nur der Ablauf des Raku-Brands ist in seinem Wesen unbeeinflussbar – und damit  jede Fliese ein Unikum.